Nominate candidates for the Arthur Svensson-prize before 31. December

07.11.2014 15:41:00

Trade unions all over the world are invited to nominate candidates for the Arthur Svensson International Prize for Trade Union Right 2014. Please note that the deadline is one month earlier than before: 31. December 2104.

For mer informasjon

Bilde mangler
The Arthur Svensson International Prize for Trade Union Rights is presented to a person or organization that has promoted trade union rights and/or strengthened unionization.
The prize is NOK 500 000 and is awarded annually based on nominations made by trade unions and union representatives from across the world.

Previous recipients of the prize
2010: Wellington Chibebe, secretary general of the Zimbabwe Congress of Trade Unions
2011: Shaher Sae’d, secretary general of the Palestine General Federation of Trade Unions
2012: Coalition of Cambodian Apparel Workers Democratic Union (C.CAWDU)
2013: Valentin Urusov, head of the Russian Profsvoboda trade union
2014: Napoleón Gómez Urritia, leader of The National Union of Mine, Metal, Steel and Allied Workers of the Mexican Republic - Los Mineros. 

Who can nominate candidates? 
Representatives and employees of trade unions around the world affiliated to confederations that are a part of the International Trade Union Congress (ITUC) or to the Global Unions
can nominate candidates.

Nomination requirements
The nomination must include arguments for why the candidate is nominated.
It must also be clear who is making the nomination, and the nominator's relationship with the proposed candidate.

The deadline for nominating candidates is 31 December 2014. The prize will be presented in Oslo in June 2015.

The prize committee
The committee is broadly composed of seven people from Norwegian trade union movement, appointed by the National Executive Committee of Industri Energi for a four-year period.

How to submit your nomination
Nominations must be made in either Norwegian, English, French or Spanish to Committee Secretary Espen Løken (Industri Energi) by e-mail:, or by using the nomination form on the Arhur Svensson Prize-website.

Please label your nominations with the text: Arthur Svensson International Prize 2015

Read more about the prize and the statutes at